The LAFCA will announce their awards over the weekends. Among the major critics, the LA Film Critics have considerable influence because they directly follow the National Board of Review. When the LAFCA award the same Best Picture as the National Board of Review, that film often becomes very difficult to beat, as Slumdog Millionaire proved two years ago. However, LA can also completely change up the race. Last year, they went in a different direction as NBR and picked The Hurt Locker. This started a trend which eventually resulted in The Hurt Locker triumphing on Oscar night. Past LAFCA winners for Best Picture include Sideways, About Schmidt, There Will Be Blood, American Splendour, and Wall-E. Who will take home the prize this year? Here are our predictions.

Best Picture: Inception
Best Director: David Fincher, The Social Network
Best Actor: Colin Firth, The King’s Speech
Best Actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter
Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit